I don’t know what it means to cry…

As soon as it feels like the dam has broken pride swallows and dries any tears that threaten to fall. 

What made me this way? 

Was it growing up having to dry the tears that were easy to fall? Or maybe the need to harden more? It could be the people around me always telling me to stay strong, don’t cry, it doesn’t help. 

Yet they fell anyway….

Now they seem to be threatening to break free from all the stress and turmoil inside, but they won’t fall. 

The voices…

They tell me to endure and stay strong. Crying won’t help, yet I yearn for the release because…where else would I get it? 

Dry eyes and pressure in my chest…

I feel like I could blow any minute. But what would escape me? A scream? A punch to the wall? Or what I long for? Those tears. 

To cry is to feel…

To feel is to be human…

And alive.” -by Grim Angel 
Image: Pinterest 

