I’ve recently been going back and reading some of the old stories I wrote in the past. I’d read them and edit to see which ones I would like to share with you all. After looking through majority of them I noticed a pattern. Majority of my stories, about ninety-eight percent of them, do not have happy endings. I found this quite odd.

For those who know me personally knows of my obsession with Disney movies. Even in my late twenties, I still watch and sing along to any and all of the Disney movies I know and love. My favorites are Nightmare Before Christmas, the Lion King, and the Aristocats. My love for these movies, like with anyone, started as a child. At that time I think my favorite was The Fox and the Hound. That movie made me cry a lot.

They all have happy endings that I love. So far from reality, and that’s what drew me to them even to this day. I don’t see happy endings or believe in them.. sometimes. All I know is reality, and when reality is tough I watch a good old Disney movie to ease me out of the depression I’d sometimes go through. I’d read or write or watch these movies when I needed to get away from reality for a bit.

So why does none of my stories have a happy ending? Because happy endings aren’t based off my reality when I write. I love them in everyone else work, and because most people expect a happy ending compared to their life in the present. Everyone wants to be happy at the end of the day. I go against that in majority of my writing. There isn’t always going to be a happy ending. Some endings are tragic and that’s what I want to paint for some people who read my work. Life isn’t just a one way street. Some people get a happy ending, some don’t. That’s life no matter how pretty or gruesome you want to paint it.

 

Image by EQDesign

