I made plans for this weekend to travel back to my hometown. Every night this week the little girl failed to show up, but there was a lingering presence near that I felt. At one point I heard help me like a whisper in the air one night and I’d wake up to find nothing. Disappointment and worry inched its way through me during the entire week. Because of this I lacked focus in my everyday life; I had taken the last day of work off of the week. As I pack my bags now uncertainty fills me. I’m not sure what’s to come.

The drive back to my hometown filled me with anxiety. I wouldn’t say that I had a horrible childhood, but it certainly wasn’t the best. Memories of being bullied, and the ongoing nosebleeds from stress left me as bit of an outcast. I wasn’t your typical child that went out and played with other children. Warm summer days filled with crisp blue skies while the sun blazed about were the days you’d find me cooped up inside with a good book or my video games. My parents forced me to stay in due to the amount of bullying I had faced from early childhood until senior year in high school. I’m fairly certain no one would even recognize me now without my braces and frizzy hair.

The orange circle of the sky slowly rose over the peaks of the mountains. Drops of dew began to form as the cool night’s air dissipated to a warm morning. The drive to the wooden cabin was not too far along now, and the beauty of dawn did nothing to slow my rising anxiety. The question of what was I doing rose plenty of times during the drive. Why was I doing this? I’m going into a place where a couple of people may have been murdered  to help a ghost or whatever she is that terrifies the life out of me from the ghost of her father who’s a dentist. If I said that to anyone else then I surely would have been sent to a mental facility. Knowing my parents, they would be the ones who’d put me there and say the bullying experienced is a direct result of my insanity. I won’t be able to tell anyone for numerous reasons; plus, who would believe me anyway?

The curve up the trail to the cabin was a difficult one. The curves proved dangerous if traveling over twenty miles per hour, and there were logs and large branches from storms that littered the roads; you can tell not many people travel up this way. Another thirty minutes and the cabin entered my view. After pulling up, I got out of the car and took a look around. It looked exactly as it did when I was with the little girl in the pale blue dress. What was odd was the front door looked like it was forced open.

The wooden steps creaked so loud that they echoed through the woods with each step I took. I tried to lighten my steps as I crept to the door in fear of falling through the porch. Finally after making it inside, I took a look around. The door behind me slammed itself shut and my eyes land on the solid foot print against the door. The memories of the last time I was here invaded my thoughts which then caused my anxiety to flare and my breath to quicken. I stumble back and at a feeble attempt to catch my footing I end up crashing through the floor. It wasn’t long of a fall and the crash to concrete floor wasn’t as bad as what I saw when I gathered myself. No one was close enough to hear my wails.

 

 

Previous: The Girl in the Pale Blue Dress: Part 4

